Josie and the Pussycats

Josie and the Pussycats comic book cover (my arrow to Josie)It was only a matter of time before I put these up here. They have to be my all-time favourite girl-band cartoon dressed in leotards with tails and cute pussycat headbands. Oh yes. Josie and the Pussycats is my themetune.

It was a mystery cartoon, in the vein of Scooby Doo, and went through several reincarnations including a film in 2001. Starting in the fifties as a comic book, Josie and the Pussycats made it to TV in 1970, running for a few years.

When I was a kid I didn’t really want to look like them as they were too girly. But I wanted to be in a rock band and I would have liked to dress up in the tiger costume as I’ve always loved cats.

I think probably the only reason I remember it is because of my name. That and the fact that nearly everyone who meets me and is above a certain age, mentions the pussycats. I tell them that I’ve left my cats at home. Or for very special people I offer to share my pussycats. Most of the time, though, the cats are asleep.

See also Josie and the LOLcats.


Josie Henley-Einion, author, blogger, Legend in my own Living Room