Des O’Connor

Des O'Connor in 2008Des O’Connor is like the king of showbiz. I heard him on the radio yesterday plugging his new album and it took me right back to the Seventies. He did this talk show which preceded the likes of Wogan and Russell Harty. Of course, Parkinson was already on then and I’m sure I’ll be blogging about Parky soon enough.

Des O'Connor with Morcambe and Wise in the SeventiesThe thing with Des was that he never seemed to take himself too seriously. He’s been doing stand up performances since the Fifties and brought singing into the act almost as a joke. Due to the irreverent behaviour of Morcambe and Wise (who again, I’m sure I’ll be blogging about) Des’s singing career took off and hasn’t stopped. His new album is out this month, in fact. He said in the interview that he worried if Eric Morcambe (who was a good friend) kept on making fun of him then it would be the end of his career as a singer, however it seemed to have the opposite effect.

Des has been privileged to interview some great stars, and many of them he met before they achieved stardom and were just starting out. What a career! He mentioned Freddie Starr and Barbara Streisand, but according to Wikipedia there are a huge number of celebrities, including royals and politicians, that he’s interviewed. I’m so glad I listened to the interview because I was starting to flag with inspiration for PopandCrisps and now I’m bubbling with ideas again.


Josie Henley-Einion, author, blogger, Legend in my own Living Room

Leave a Reply

