Lulu

Seventies LuluLulu was really cool. For one thing at least you could pronounce her name! She sang with a throaty voice and great gusto. She presented programs and acted in panto during the Seventies as well as being a singer. The original all round star.

According to Wikipedia, she was part of a show where the viewers got to pick which song she would sing for the Eurovision Song Contest 1969. This is perhaps the first of its kind, but it wasn’t a phone-in show, it was ‘answers on a postcard’. Do we ever get that now?

The song she sang for that Eurovision was Boom-bang-a-bang. It peed off a lot of other countries because it was a draw between several countries and they changed the rules of Eurovision after that. Lulu herself hates the song and the whole Eurovision thing with a vengeance – see Wikipedia for what she says.

Lulu now looks younger?I loved it though, and I’m sure plenty of others did. I used to sing boom-bang-a-bang but usually not about my heart.

The thing that I found amazing about Lulu was that though she was two years older than my mum, she didn’t actually get any older! She would change her hair and her clothes but she was exactly the same. Is she an alien?

I looked on the official Lulu site (I mean, god! Look at her! She’s sixty for heaven’s sake) and found that she markets a brand of anti-ageing cream. Does that explain it?


 Josie Henley-Einion, author, blogger, Legend in my own Living Room

2 Responses

  1. Ah, memories! You’ve got me doing it now; it spreads. My latest blog post features the Ant Hill Mob and Penelope Pitstop…

    I wish I was three again!

  2. Yay, Penelope Pitstop! *slopes off to write another post*

Leave a Reply

