The War of the Worlds Musical – Jeff Wayne

Jeff Wayne's War of the Worlds album cover Art by Geoff Taylor, 1976My mum bought this album in 1978 and I listened to it loads over the following years. It was my first experience of science fiction and established a lifelong interest in this genre. I read the inside cover and studied the pictures intensely while listening to the music. I was fascinated by the ideas this story conveyed.

The actual book The War of the Worlds was written by HG Wells in 1898 and has had such influence on the modern age that it has been made into numerous films, a radio adaptations and has influenced many other books. See Wikipedia disambiguation for a full list.

Following my obsession with the Jeff Wayne music, I read science fiction voraciously, John Wyndham, Arthur C Clark, Isaac Asimov, and ultimately HG Wells himself. There was something chilling about the concept of an alien invasion and the people of earth being like ants in our ability to defend ourselves. The music was and still is evocative of this chilling sense of despair, and right at the end a tiny point of hope.

The chances of anyone coming from Mars are a million to one, she said. The chances of anyone coming from Mars are a million to one, but still they come.

See, I’ve got goosebumps.


 Josie Henley-Einion, author, blogger, Legend in my own Living Room

2 Responses

  1. Wow. Haven’t thought of this in years! I remember buying this at Peaches Records and 8-tracks on a Sunday afternoon in Dayton Ohio. Loved it. It’s still in my Peaches crate (an LP crate that looked like something you would collect peaches in at the orchard) in the garage. Haven’t had an LP player in about 15 years, though!.

  2. LOL if you’re still in Dayton I could sell ya one 😀 have a few kicking around here !! My sister had this LP mainly coz of David Essex , swoon :p I was 8 and it scared me !!

Leave a Reply

