Sweet Memories

Guest Blog from Judith Gray

Tin of Cremola FoamI think you need to be under 10 and living in the 1970’s to fully enjoy brightly coloured food.  Every decade since the 70’s has been imbued with an acute awareness of the detrimental effects of additives and colorants in food.

The 1970’s, for me, were summer holidays spent cross-legged on my gran’s brown and orange swirled carpet watching Why Don’t You?, drinking Creamola Foam and wishing I was called George like my favourite Famous Five character.

Creamola Foam was a bizarre concoction from Nestle; it consisted of crystals that you added cold water to and got a fizzy, ‘fruity’ drink.  I loved every cup full of it when I was a kid, but now I can’t think about it without wondering what on earth it was made of.  What conspiracy of chemicals combined to create the foam?

I suspect that the 70’s were the last decade I ate without giving a thought to the nutritional or calorific value of the food.  I am not sure if this was because I was child and didn’t have a concept of nutrition or if it was because it was the 1970’s and we were generally less obsessed about what was in our food.  My parents certainly fed me food that I wouldn’t give to my kids, no matter how nostalgic it made me feel.  And thanks to TV programmes like Lazy Town, most four year olds nowadays have a good sense of what food is bad for them and what is good (i.e. ‘sports candy’).

In the 70’s, we seemed to positively revel in the plasticity of our snacks.  Remember flying saucers?  They tasted like fizzy paper and, once wet, stuck relentlessly to anything they touched, coating teeth and tongues alike.  And yet we still bought them because of their shape and the suggestion of outer space.  The novelty value of food was celebrated.

Sweets at www.sweetieworld.co.ukI regularly indulge in nostalgic reminiscing about the sweeties of my childhood.  The Texan bars, Caramac, Black Jacks, Spangles, Flumps and raspberry flavoured crisps (OK, maybe not the latter … even at the age of 10 I knew they tasted foul but something still tempted me to part with the princely sum of 5 pence to try them!).  But I could never really enjoy these things now in the care-free way of my youth.  I know too much now!


Judith Gray

One Response

  1. Hi Judith,

    I too remember fondly Cremola foam. We used to lick the lid, close the tin, invert the tin, take the lid off and lick the pure crystals off the lid for a hit of that gorgeous, chemically acidic taste. Brightly coloured food & sweets, and good ol’ Tartrazine the orange squash. Ah, happy days.

Leave a Reply

