The Goodies

The Kitten trashing the cityI loved The Goodies! The giant kitten was my favourite scene, and possibly one of the most memorable. In the opening credits a white kitten storms through London, pawing at the Houses of Parliament and knocking down Big Ben, in a parody of the poorly scripted monster movies of the time. My favourite Goodie was Bill Oddie and I wanted to be like him when I grew up.

The Goodies left to right Bill Oddie, Graeme Garden, Tim Brooke-TaylorThe other Goodies were Tim Brooke-Taylor and Graeme Garden. Both of them annoyed me but I loved Bill enough to still watch the show. He reminded me in some ways of my Uncle Bill, who is also from Birmingham.

My Mum had the Goodies Book of Records which I read over and over again. And The Goodies File which had a brown cover and the hardback was peeling from overuse. I think if the words could have been worn out from my reading then there would be nothing left. I especially liked Cricklewood Man, which was a fake prehistoric human.

There was also Ecky Thump the Yorkshire martial art, the weapon of which was a black pudding. Bill Oddie used to wear a giant flat cap and wave the sausage around in a parody of Samurai. Ecky thump is a phrase which is the equivalent of ‘oh my goodness’ or ‘well I never’ or ‘I’ll go to the foot of our stairs’ or ‘ee by gum’ or… well you get the picture I’m sure.


Josie Henley-Einion, author, blogger, Legend in my own Living Room

3 Responses

  1. The Ecky Thump episode was also a brilliant skit on Kung Fu, complete with Bill Oddie wandering across the sand dunes playing a flute – as he entered a Northern seaside town.
    Other martial arts were mentioned, too – I seem to remember Graeme Garden in full Scottish regalia with bagpipes, and Tim Brooke-Taylor as a Frenchman with a long loaf.

  2. Thanks for the input Lesley! I don’t remember those but it does fit in with the Goodies style so I totally believe you!

  3. […] – bookmarked by 6 members originally found by uiworker on 2008-12-13 The Goodies https://popandcrisps.wordpress.com/2008/07/05/the-goodies/ – bookmarked by 5 members originally […]

Leave a Reply

