Wimbledon in the Seventies

Martina Navratalova and Billie Jean King, my fantasy tennis leagueNow is the perfect time to talk about my tennis heroines. Mostly the women of the seventies – Billie Jean King, Virginia Wade, Martina Navratalova. I also enjoyed watching the men champions – Jimmy Connors and Bjorn Borg, but the women were all for me.

Whenever I think of tennis I think of how fabulous they were and how I loved to watch Wimbledon every summer (though got fed up sometimes because the children’s programs got shifted to BBC2).

I loved Bille Jean and Martina long before I heard they were lesbians or even knew that I was. Perhaps it was my psychic ability, or maybe the muscles and grunting that did it.

I remember watching Martina in black and white when she had dark hair and no-one could pronounce her name. Tennis was the only women’s sport that was televised to such a serious extent, and Martina was the top.

Bjorn Borg at Sporting Heroes Jimmy Connors at Sporting Heroes

Everyone loved Bjorn Borg because he was like Bjorn from Abba and looked like a bit of a hippie with his long hair and beard. And everyone loved Jimmy Connors because he was a wholesome American boy-next-door. I think McEnroe spoiled that image but I’m not talking about the ‘you cannot be serious’ guy in this post.


Josie Henley-Einion, author, blogger, Legend in my own Living Room

2 Responses

  1. I used to live in Wimbledon in the 70s …. used to take our dogs to the common. However during Wimbledon, all the roads were changed to ‘one-way’ and we’d always end up getting lost – they used to keep switching the system from year to year and Dad never knew which way to go …. Got tickets one year though and had Ilie Nastase come running off the court and tread on my toe!! I was in heaven!!!

  2. Finally, an issue that my partner and i are passionate about. We have looked for information of this caliber for the last several hours. Your site is greatly appreciated

Leave a Reply

