Flyaway Collars and Kipper Ties

Me in my favourite shirt with giant collar, aged 8

None of the material excesses of the eighties can compare with kipper ties and wide shirt collars. These really were ‘material excess’. I loved that shirt though, and the collar only seems big in retrospect (funny how that happens, isn’t it?).

Also the flowers seemed subtle to me at the time. Compared to other girly shirts I was forced to wear, this one was more masculine and me being a tomboy meant that I preferred it.

 
Kipper tie fancy dress at www.chickenshop.co.ukI wanted a kipper tie, but by the time I was old enough to choose what tie I wore (i.e. not school uniform) they had gone out of fashion and were used as jokes.

This one is from a fancy dress website www.chickenshop.co.uk, but you can also get genuine retro ties from seventies clothes stores listed on www.retrosellers.com

 


Josie Henley-Einion, author, blogger, Legend in my own Living Room

Leave a Reply

