Sweets That Are Now Banned

I loved eating tobacco. Not the real tobacco you understand, but the stuff made from coconut, dyed brown and sugar-coated, and sold in a proper red pouch with a picture of a sailor or a ship on the front. Do you remember it? Can’t even remember what it was called but it was banned during the Seventies and I never saw it since. Do you know how much I love Google? I’ve just found it – Spanish Gold.

Spanish Gold sold at www.oldestsweetshop.co.uk

It didn’t make me want to smoke, I just loved the taste. My granddad smoked a pipe and so did my Dad occasionally. So I knew all about tobacco and I knew that it tasted pretty horrible. But coconut tobacco was sweet and chewy and lovely. And the stringiness of it was cool. But the pouch made it special because you could pretend to be grown up. That’s probably the reason they took it off us.

 Sweet Cigarettes

Sweet cigarettes took a while longer to be banned and I think you can still get them in Spain. They were cool as well. You could get either the powdery chocolate ones with paper wrapping or the white candy sticks with red tips. I didn’t like the chocolate ones and the wrappers were fiddly but I loved the little white sticks. I used to pretend to smoke them, holding one between my fingers like my gran did and biting off a bit at the end each time I took a puff. This didn’t make me want to smoke either, but it was good practice in looking cool for when I started.

There were other sweets that weren’t banned in the shops but we were banned from eating them. Bubble gum and chewing gum, for instance. We were told that if you swallowed it then it would wrap itself around your internal organs and choke you. I didn’t understand why chewing gum could do this but the skins on black pudding couldn’t. I think it was one of those lies that children get told so they don’t ask for something their parents don’t want them to have.


Josie Henley-Einion, author, blogger, Legend in my own Living Room

One Response

  1. OMG!!!! I remember the sweet cigarettes! LOL I remember buying them right up to the late 80’s. As well as the solid white ones with pink colouring on the end, there used to also be chocolate ones that were wrapped in a proper cigarette paper (which you had to peel off, or eat depending on mood or parental proximity he he he) and came in a proper card box wrapped in plastic, just like the real things do.

Leave a Reply

